National Disability Awards Nominations now open

Federal Member for Cunningham Sharon Bird and Federal Member for Throsby Stephen Jones have today welcomed the opening of nominations for the National Disability Awards.

NDIS_rally_006.jpg“The National Disability Awards are now in their seventh year. These awards honour and recognise the achievements of individuals and organisations that have made a significant contribution to the community to improve the lives of people with a disability,” Sharon Bird said.

“I welcome the opening of nominations for these Awards and I urge people and businesses in the Illawarra to get behind those who deserve national recognition for the positive contribution they have made to those living with disability,” Ms Bird said.

“These Awards are important for our community to celebrate and acknowledge the contributions individuals and organisations have made to improve the lives of people with a disability,” Stephen Jones said.

“If you know someone, whether an individual or organisation in the Illawarra that has made a difference to our community at a local, regional, state or national level, I encourage you to nominate them for this award,” Mr Jones said.

Nominations close 5pm Friday 28 June 2013

Finalists will be invited to the National Disability Awards ceremony held in Canberra on Tuesday 26 November 2013, where the winners will be announced.

Further information about the National Disability Awards can be found at or by calling 1800 672 628.